
25 Misunderstood Rules in High School Basketball 
 

1. There is no 3-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a 

new count starts.  Comment:  We officials know this. 

 

2. A player can go out of bounds, and return inbounds and be the first to touch the ball!  Comment:  You 

can be first to touch a ball if you were out of bounds. However, you must establish yourself as inbounds.  

 

3. There is no such thing as “over the back.”  There must be contact resulting in advantage/disadvantage.  
Do not put a tall player at a disadvantage merely for being tall!  Comment:  See comment #1. 

 

4. “Reaching,” is not a foul.  There must be contact and the player with the ball must have been placed at 

a disadvantage.  Comment:  See comment #1 

 

5. A player can always recover his/her fumbled ball; a fumble is not a dribble, and any steps taken during 

recovery are not traveling, regardless of progress made and/or advantage gained!  (Running while 

fumbling is not traveling!) Comment:  You can fumble a pass, recover it and legally begin a dribble.  
This is not double dribble.  If the player bats the ball to the floor in a controlling fashion, picks the ball 

up, then begins to dribble, you now have a violation.  

 

6. It is not possible for a player to travel while dribbling.  Comment:  Basketball Fundamental #6, Page 73 

of the Rule Book.  

 

7. A high dribble is always legal provided the dribbler’s hand stays on top of the ball, and the ball does not 

come to rest in the dribblers’ hand.  Comment:  The key is whether or not the ball is at rest in the hand.   
 

8. A “kicked” ball must be intentional, and contact must be any part of the leg.  Comment: MUST BE 

intentional. We miss this too many times at the lower levels.   

 

9. It is perfectly legal for a player to rebound his/her own air ball, provided the official deemed the shot a 

legitimate shot/try.  Comment:  Case Book 4.44-B describes this play exactly. Page 40 Case Book.  

 

10. It is impossible to travel, double dribble or carry while taking the ball out for a throw in. I have seen 
officials tell players they can’t move on a throw-in. Why?  This is not a rule.  You have limitations but 

you can move.  Comment:  They must stay over the spot in a lateral manner.  The spot is 3 feet wide 

and has no restrictions on depth. 

 

11. A ball cannot travel over the top of the backboard (rectangular); however it can travel behind the 
backboard.  Comment:  The ball can pass through the poles, wires, standards, etc. provided that it does 

not touch anything.  

 

12. A defender does not have to “give the dribbler a step.”  As long as legal guarding position has been 

established, it is up to the dribbler to avoid contact.  The person with the ball should expect to be 

guarded.  Comment:  Legal guarding position is the key.  Time and distance are not an issue when 

guarding someone with the ball. Rule 4-23- 13. 

 
13. The sides, top, and bottom of a rectangular backboard are IN BOUNDS.  Comment: Lead Official should 

NEVER be looking to make this call. 



 

14. Jumpers may tap the ball simultaneously, may tap the ball twice, and when a legally tapped ball 

touches the floor, a player other than a non-jumper or (believe it or not) a backboard, the JUMP BALL 

HAS ENDED, and either jumper may recover it!  Comment: Rule 4-28-2  
 

15. A 10-second count continues when the defense deflects or bats the ball.  Comment: The count ceases 

only when possession changes. 

 

16. A “moving screen” isn’t a violation unless there is contact. (If contact occurs, it’s a “BLOCK”, which is a 

foul).  Comment:  Rule 4-40 

 

17. Any contact foul during a live-ball is personal, not technical!  Comment:  The contact can be flagrant 
but never technical.  

 

18. Basketball in NOT a non-contact sport.  Incidental contact does occur, and contact which does not 

create an advantage/disadvantage may be ignored.  Contact on the shooter should be called.  

Comment:  This is our bread and butter.  Purely judgment.  Understanding the flow of the game and 

the teams that are playing are paramount in you being able to determine correctly what is and what is 

not a foul.   

 
19. Any unsportsmanlike contact during a dead ball is a technical foul.  Comment:  See #17 

 

20. A defensive player does not have to be stationary to take a charge…he or she simple must have 

established a legal guarding position.  The defense can move backward and sideways .  Comment:  

Legal guarding position must be established.  OFFICIATE THE DEFENSE!  

 

21. An intentional foul is always penalized with 2 free throws, except on a missed 3-point shot, which is 

awarded 3 free throws.  Comment:  Rule 4-19-3 
 

22. When an airborne shooter commits a player control foul, his/her successful try for goal CANNOT be 

allowed, regardless of whether the try was released before or after the foul.  Comment:  Rule 4-1 

 

23. Lifting the pivot foot does not constitute a travel unless the ball handler puts the pivot foot back on the 

floor prior to beginning a passing, or shooting the ball!  

 

24. It is not goaltending if, after contacting the backboard, the ball is touched by a defensive player, 
provided the ball has not reached its apex and it is not inside the cylinder.  Comment:  It is legal for a 

defender in the normal course of trying to block a shot to contact the backboard with his hand.  This is 

not basket interference. 

 

25. Basket interference occurs when a player touches the ball or basket (net included) when the ball is ON 

or within the basket, touches the ball when it is touching the cylinder having the ring as its lower base, 

touches the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below.  Goal Tending 

occurs when a player touches the ball during a try or tap while it is in its downward flight entirely 
above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket in flight, or an opponent of 

the free thrower touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free throw attempt.  Comment:  

Touching the net is only a violation if the ball is in contact with the rim or it’s within the basket.  It is not 

a violation if the net is touched while the ball is in the cylinder. 


